The Broken Empire Trilogy By Mark Lawrence Book Review

Mark Lawrence’s Broken Empire Trilogy is a shining example of how fantasy stories can grab readers’ attention and make them think. In this series, filled with dark twists and turns, Lawrence paints a picture of ambition, revenge, and the tricky nature of power. The author weaves a tale that’s both complex and captivating, making it a truly unique and compelling piece of fiction in the fantasy realm.

Mark Lawrence, leads us through an exciting adventure in the Broken Empire Trilogy. This trilogy includes Prince of Thorns, King of Thorns, and Emperor of Thorns. These books all come together to tell a big story about Jorg Ancrath, the not-so-typical hero

1.Prince of Thorns

prince of thorns book

2.King of Thorns

king of thorns book

3.Emperor of Thorns

emperor of thorns book

Plot And Pacing

Mark Lawrence is like a master storyteller, and he unfolds a big tale across three books: Prince of Thorns, King of Thorns, and Emperor of Thorns. It’s all about this tough guy, Jorg Ancrath, and his journey in a really harsh world.

The story doesn’t slow down for a breath. It keeps going full speed, making you feel like you’re right there with Jorg in this tough world that doesn’t cut anyone a break. The pace keeps you hooked, always wondering what’s going to happen next. The tension is high, like you’re on the edge of your seat.

What’s cool is how each book builds on the others. It’s like laying bricks for a big, intricate castle. Every book makes the story and the characters more detailed. It’s not just about what happens; it’s about understanding the plot and the people in it. This way, you stay hooked from start to finish.

So, imagine reading these books as a journey. You start with Prince of Thorns, and it’s like the first step into this wild adventure. Then, King of Thorns adds more layers, like peeling an onion. Finally, Emperor of Thorns brings it all together, making you see the whole picture. It’s not just a story; it’s a whole experience, and Mark Lawrence is the guide taking you through this thrilling ride.


Jorg Ancrath, the antihero at the heart of the trilogy, is a morally ambiguous and compelling character. Mark Lawrence creates Jorg with a lot of attention to detail, making him both someone you might not like and, at the same time, someone you can’t help but be interested in. The other characters in the story are also well thought out. Each one plays a part in the complex web of friendships and betrayals. The relationships between them are full of tension, adding more layers to the story and making readers wonder what will happen until the very last page.

World Building

The Broken Empire is a tough and harsh world, and Mark Lawrence doesn’t leave out any details in showing it. From the broken landscapes to the falling-apart bits of what used to be towns, the world feels like a character on its own. The author mixes traditional fantasy stuff with a gloomy, post-apocalyptic background really well. This makes a special and deep setting that makes the whole reading experience even better. It’s like the world itself has a story to tell, adding a lot to the overall feeling of the books.


In the center of the trilogy, there’s a deep dive into big ideas like power, revenge, and what happens when you make choices. Mark Lawrence doesn’t avoid the tough parts of his world, making readers face tricky moral questions. The story shakes up the usual ideas of heroes, giving a new and interesting perspective on fantasy. It’s like a fresh and mind-stirring look at the usual fantasy stories we know. The books push us to think about what power and revenge really mean, and how the choices we make can change everything.

writing Style

Mark Lawrence’s writing is like a mix of poetry and realness. He uses words that paint clear pictures, making readers feel like they’re really in the Broken Empire. The way he describes things is so detailed that it pulls you into the story. What’s really cool is how he can show the complicated feelings and reasons behind what the characters do. This makes the characters feel more real, and it makes the story even better. Lawrence’s writing doesn’t just tell the story, it makes you really feel and understand what’s going on.


If you like characters who aren’t just good or bad, stories that are really detailed, and writing that’s both beautiful and real, then you’ve got to read The Broken Empire Trilogy. But, because it deals with some heavy stuff and the story is pretty intense, it might not be right for everyone. If you’re into fantasy that’s not just about magic and adventures, but also about tough choices and the not-so-nice parts of life, then these books are worth checking out. Just keep in mind that they’re not for everyone, especially if you prefer lighter or happier stories.


The Broken Empire Trilogy is like a thrilling ride through a fantasy world that’s not like the usual. Mark Lawrence’s amazing storytelling, with a main character who’s not exactly good or bad, and a world full of excitement and mystery, makes this trilogy a must-read for people who like fantasy that’s tough and makes you think. Get ready for a rollercoaster of feelings that will make you see things in a new way and stick with you for a long time.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *