Review- Time Quintet Series By Madeleine L’Engle

time quintet series

I read all the books in the Time Quintet series by Madeleine L’Engle, I have a lot to say about these stories. This series includes five books: A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and An Acceptable Time. These books are a mix of science fiction (stories about futuristic and scientific ideas) and fantasy (stories about magical and imaginary things). These books also make you think about big questions related to religion and the meaning of life.

The series is not just about exciting adventures in different times and worlds; it also makes you think deeply. The characters and the situations they face teach us about important ideas like love, courage, and the struggle between good and evil. The stories are interesting and fun to read, but they also make you think about serious topics. This mix of fun stories and deep thoughts is what makes the Time Quintet series so special.

1. A Wrinkle in Time (1962)

a wrinkle in time book cover

The Time Quintet series starts with the most famous book, A Wrinkle in Time. This book was very ahead of its time when it was published. It tells the story of Meg Murry, a girl who is easy to relate to because she has her own weaknesses and worries. The story is really interesting because it mixes science ideas like the tesseract (which is like a shortcut through time and space) with a fight against a dark and mean force.

The way the characters grow and change in the story is really well done, especially for Meg and her little brother, Charles Wallace. What makes the book so good is not just its exciting story but also the important messages it shares. It talks about the power of love, being true to who you are, and standing up against just fitting in with everyone else. These deep ideas are a big part of why A Wrinkle in Time is such a great and memorable book.

2. A Wind in the Door (1973)

a wind in the door book cover

In the sequel to A Wrinkle in Time, the story takes a different path. It still has big, universe-sized ideas, but it also looks closely at tiny things, like mitochondria, which are little parts inside cells. This book focuses on Charles Wallace, who is sick, and the story takes us into a tiny world inside his body. It’s really interesting how Madeleine L’Engle mixes science stuff, like how cells work, with big questions about life and what’s right or wrong.

The characters in this book grow and change, and we meet new, imaginative characters like the farandolae, tiny beings living in cells. The book talks a lot about how everything is connected, from the huge universe to the tiny world inside us. This idea of everything being linked together is a big part of the story.

3. A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978)

a swiftly tilting planet book cover

In the third book of the series, the story is more about Charles Wallace. The way the story is told is quite complicated. It mixes together different times and historical events. This is done through a special idea called kything and by looking back at the history of Charles Wallace’s family, the Murrys and the O’Keefes.

This book makes you think a lot. It talks about how what we do can affect things over time and how we might be able to change what happens in the future. The story is brave and tries to do a lot, which makes it really interesting. However, some readers might find it a bit hard to understand because of how it jumps around in time and deals with complex ideas.

4. Many Waters (1986)

many waters book cover

Many Waters Fourth book of the series, the story is about the Murry twins, Sandy and Dennys, who weren’t the main focus in the earlier books. This book is different from the others because it doesn’t talk about space or tiny things like cells. Instead, it takes place a long time ago, during the story of Noah and the Ark from the Bible. It’s like a mix of history and fantasy.

This book is fascinating because it explores ideas about faith, what’s right and wrong, and what it means to be human. However, it feels separate from the other books in the series. The story doesn’t connect as much to the big adventures and themes of the previous books.

5. An Acceptable Time (1989)

an acceptable time book cover

The last book of the series, the main character is Polly O’Keefe, who is Meg’s daughter. This story is about traveling through time. Polly goes back in time and sees the history of the Earth and the struggles between different groups of people.

The book does a good job of showing what time travel might be like and what could happen because of it. But, even though it’s an interesting story, it doesn’t quite fit in with the rest of the series. It feels more like an extra story added on, rather than a final chapter that ties everything together.

Overall Impression

The Time Quintet series is a special journey that mixes together fantasy and science fiction with big questions about life and what’s right or wrong. Madeleine L’Engle’s way of writing is easy to understand but also makes you think, which is why both kids and adults like these books.

The series isn’t perfect, though. Some people might think that the ideas about science and life in the books are a bit old or too simple, and the story sometimes doesn’t flow smoothly, especially in the later books. But what’s great about these books is how they make you think hard about the universe, the complicated nature of being human, and how important love and connections are. This series is very important in the world of books for young people, and it has definitely made a big impact.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *