5 popular longest fantasy book series

fantasy city

These book series are not just long because they have many books, but also because each book has a lot of words and the stories create vast and detailed worlds. Each series has its own special way of telling a fantasy story.

1. The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan and later Brandon Sanderson

the wheel of time boos series

This series has 14 main books and one extra story that comes before the main events. It is famous for having a very complex story, a richly imagined world full of fantasy elements, and many different characters. The first book, called The Eye of the World, came out in 1990. The series ended with the book A Memory of Light in 2013. After the original author passed away, another writer named Brandon Sanderson finished writing the series.

2. Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson

malazan book series

This series includes ten books and is famous for having very complicated stories and a special way of telling fantasy tales. It started with the book Gardens of the Moon in 1999 and ended with The Crippled God in 2011. The story takes place in a place called the Malazan Empire and covers many different characters and places. The books are full of adventures and different events happening in various locations within this fantasy world.

3. Discworld by Terry Pratchett

discword book series

The Discworld series is a collection of 41 books. Each book takes place in a very unusual and funny world called Discworld. This world is flat and shaped like a disc. It is carried by four elephants, and these elephants are standing on the back of a huge turtle. The books are not exactly one long story but are connected because they happen in the same world. This series is very well-known for being funny, clever, and for making fun of things in our real world in a playful way. The first book in this series is The Colour of Magic, and it was published in 1983. The series is full of different characters and stories, all happening in this strange, disc-shaped world.

4. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

a song of ice and fire book series

This book series, which became the TV show Game of Thrones, is famous for showing politics and power in a make-believe world very realistically. Up to now, there are five books out, starting with A Game of Thrones in 1996. The writer plans to add two more books. This series is well-known for creating very detailed and complex characters and for having surprising changes in the story.

5. The Dark Tower by Stephen King

the dark tower book series

This book series mixes different types of stories – fantasy, science fiction, scary stories, and Western-style tales. It has eight books, starting with The Gunslinger in 1982 and ending with The Dark Tower in 2004. The main story is about Roland Deschain, who is the last of a group of special warriors called Gunslingers. He is on a big adventure to find the Dark Tower, a magical building that is the center of all worlds. The story takes him through many strange and exciting places and situations as he tries to reach this tower.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *